Public TVET colleges

Written by Mohapi · Last updated · How these figures are checked

TVET colleges are not the place you go when your marks are not good enough. They are a different kind of institution doing a different job, and entry does not run on APS at all.

That last point is worth saying plainly, because almost every website presents TVET as the consolation prize at the bottom of an APS table. It is not. Technical and Vocational Education and Training colleges are public institutions funded by the Department of Higher Education and Training, and their programmes have their own entry requirements, some of which you can meet from Grade 9, long before matric exists as a question.

Your APS is irrelevant here. There is no APS requirement for NC(V) or NATED entry. If you came to this page from the calculator, you can stop worrying about your score for the next ten minutes.

What a TVET college is for

Universities teach you a field. TVET colleges teach you to do a job. That difference runs through everything: the assessment is more practical, the timetable is closer to a working week, and the qualification is aimed at a specific occupation rather than a discipline.

It suits you if you already know roughly what work you want to do, if you learn better by doing than by reading, if you want to be earning sooner, or if the cost and length of a degree is not realistic right now. It suits you badly if you want to keep your options broad, or you are aiming at a profession that requires a degree.

The two main programme streams

Public TVET colleges run two quite different systems side by side. People mix them up constantly, and choosing the wrong one costs a year.

NC(V): National Certificate (Vocational)

  • Entry: from Grade 9. You do not need matric.
  • Levels: NQF levels 2, 3 and 4.
  • Length: three years, one year per level.
  • Structure: a full-time school-like year with fundamental subjects plus a vocational specialisation.
  • What you end with: NC(V) Level 4 sits at the same NQF level as matric.

This is the route if you are leaving school before matric, or you have matric but want a vocational grounding from the beginning.

NATED, also called Report 191

  • N1–N3: entry from Grade 9. Engineering studies mainly.
  • N4–N6: entry from Grade 12, or from N3 in the same field.
  • Length: each N level is a trimester or semester, so you move in shorter blocks than an academic year.
  • Structure: theory-heavy, historically paired with workplace practical time.

The trimester structure is the real difference. You can start in a January, April or July intake rather than waiting for a single annual enrolment date, which matters a lot if you have just missed a university deadline.

This part is changing, so check before you commit. The DHET has gazetted the phasing out of NATED programmes, with transitional and extension arrangements attached, and the direction of travel is towards occupational qualifications on the QCTO's framework. Deliberately not stated here: the exact last-enrolment and last-examination dates. They have not been confirmed against the official notice, and a wrong date on a page like this could cost you a year. So before enrolling in any N-level programme, ask the college two questions, is this programme still taking first-time entrants, and until when, and get the answer in writing. The notices are published at dhet.gov.za.

What an N6 gets you, and the part people miss

Completing N4, N5 and N6 in a field does not by itself give you a National N Diploma. The theory is only part of it: the diploma requires relevant practical workplace experience on top of the completed N6, applied for through the college and the DHET.

This catches people out badly. Learners finish N6, assume they have a diploma, and discover at a job interview that they hold three N certificates and nothing else. If you go this route, plan the workplace component from the start. Ask the college how students in your programme actually secure it, and how many managed it last year. A vague answer is a warning.

The exact duration of workplace experience required is set out in the DHET's National N Diploma application process, and is not stated here because MatricLink has not yet confirmed it against the current official document. Ask your college for the current requirement in writing.

The artisan and trade test route

If your goal is to be a qualified artisan: electrician, millwright, fitter and turner, boilermaker, diesel mechanic, the qualification that matters at the end is the trade test, not the certificates you collect along the way.

The pathway usually combines theory at a TVET college, structured workplace learning through an apprenticeship or learnership, and then a trade test at an accredited trade test centre. The Quality Council for Trades and Occupations is responsible for occupational qualifications, and accredits the assessment and trade test centres, with trade test centre applications processed through the National Artisan Moderating Body.

Two practical things follow from that:

Where TVET leads afterwards

The route is not a dead end, but the articulation into university is more restricted than a Higher Certificate route, and this is where honest advice matters more than encouragement.

If your real goal is a degree, be honest with yourself about that now: a Higher Certificate is usually the more direct bridge, and TVET is the better choice when the vocational qualification is what you actually want.

Cost and funding

TVET fees are substantially lower than university fees, and NSFAS funds students at public TVET colleges, but the TVET rules are not identical to the university ones, which is why they get a page of their own.

One thing to be clear about now: NSFAS does not charge an application fee. Anyone asking you to pay to apply for NSFAS is not NSFAS.

How to apply

  1. Pick the college by campus and programme, not by name. Colleges are multi-campus and a programme offered by the college may run at only one of them. Confirm which campus teaches your programme before applying.
  2. Apply directly to the college, through its own site or in person, except in KwaZulu-Natal, where several TVET colleges take applications through the CAO.
  3. Watch the intake dates. NATED trimesters mean multiple intakes a year; NC(V) is an annual January intake.
  4. Apply for NSFAS separately. Admission and funding are different processes with different deadlines.

The official list of public TVET colleges and their campuses is published by the DHET at dhet.gov.za. Per-province pages listing each college and its campuses are being added to MatricLink, and will be linked here once each one has been checked against the DHET list rather than copied from another site.

Where to next